Rocky Mountain Algebraic Combinatorics Seminar

Maximal Subgroups and Irreducible Restrictions of Representations of Finite Groups

Amanda Schaeffer Fry
Metropolitan State University of Denver

The question of determining maximal subgroups of a finite group has been of interest for quite some time. A theorem of Michael Aschbacher provides a link between studying maximal subgroups of the finite classical groups and studying the behavior under restriction of irreducible representations of its subgroups. I will explain this link and give some insight into some recent developments in the area.


Polytopes of high rank for PSL(d,q)

Peter Brooksbank
Bucknell University

This talk concerns combinatorial abstractions of polytopes, the familiar geometric objects whose most famous examples are the Platonic solids. Rather than work directly with such abstract regular polytopes, one can instead consider a certain group-theoretic property possessed by these group of automorphisms of any such object. It turns out that a finite group G being a string C-group is equivalent to the existence of an abstract polytope upon which G acts nicely as automorphisms. Via this equivalence, the question of whether there exists an abstract regular polytope with a prescribed automorphism group G is reduced to finding certain highly-constrained generating sequences of involutions for G. I will survey recent work in this area and report on some new results for the groups PSL(d,q) for small values of d.


Weber 223
4–6 pm
Friday, May 8, 2015
(Refreshments in Weber 117, 3:30–4 pm)
Colorado State University

This is a joint Denver U / UC Boulder / UC Denver / U of Wyoming / CSU seminar that meets biweekly. Anyone interested is welcome to join us at a local restaurant for dinner after the talks.

PDF version

Previous Seminars:

April 24, 2015
Heide Gluesing-Luerssen, Phil DeOrsey
March 6, 2015
Felice Manganiello, Eric Moorhouse
February 20, 2015
Anton Dzhamay, Anton Betten
February 6, 2015
Alexander Hulpke, Morgan Rodgers
December 5, 2014
Stefaan De Winter, Gretchen Matthews
November 14, 2014
Greg Coxson, Tom Dorsey
October 31, 2014
Octavio Paez Osuna, Sylvia Hobart
October 10, 2014
Takunari Miyazaki, Eric Moorhouse
September 26, 2014
Elissa Ross, Anton Betten
September 12, 2014
Petr Vojtěchovský, Alexander Hulpke
May 9, 2014
Philip DeOrsey, Tim Penttila
April 25, 2014
William J Martin, Jason Williford
April 11, 2014
Victor Pambuccian, George Shakan
March 7, 2014
Nathan Lindzey, Jens Harlander
February 21, 2014
Ross McConnell, Anton Betten
November 22, 2013
Justin Hughes, Josh Maglione

Department of Mathematics
Fort Collins, Colorado 80523