Department of Mathematics - College of Natural Sciences Colorado State University

2013 Mathematics PhD & MS Graduates




Thesis/Dissertation Title

After Graduation

The Poudre School District Foundation's mission is to unite community resources for excellence in public education. One of the Foundation's underlying purposes is to recognize and encourage staff excellence in teaching and celebrate achievements.

Two familiar faces in the Department of Mathematics were recently recognized at this annual local event. Recipient of the 2013 Promising Teacher Award was Sarah Slagle. Sarah was a graduate from Colorado State University in 2008 with an undergraduate degree in Mathematics Education. Congratulations Sarah!

Also recognized with the 2013 Excellence in Education award was Elissa Gaines Pitts. Elissa graduated with her MS degree in Mathematics from Colorado State University in 1997. Elissa is the daughter of longtime Department Chair in Mathematics, Robert Gaines and his wife Martha. Congratulations Elissa!

2013 Promising Teacher Award – Poudre School District, Fort Collins.

Math student

Sarah Slagle, Fort Collins High School mathematics teacher, is the Promising Teacher of 2013. Six outstanding educators were nominees for the award, with Sarah taking top honors.

"Sara's lessons are a model of pedagogical excellence. She is a master of her content, highly organized, and full of energy and excitement as she teaches her students that which she loves, mathematics. Her enthusiasm for mathematics is infectious, and her creative approach to teaching draws students into her orbit, and that orbit is not limited to her classroom Seldom in my career have I witnessed a new teacher so rapidly establish herself as a leader." Mark Eversole, principal, Fort Collins High School.

2013 Excellence in Education Award – Poudre School District, Fort Collins

Math student

Elissa Gaines Pitts, mathematics teacher at Poudre High School, has taught 15 years in PSD. Outstanding educators are nominated from across the district for the Excellence in Education award as a result of their commitment to student excellence. In 2013, a total of five educations were recipients of this award.

"In addition to her academic commitments, Elissa has made many other valuable contributions to Poudre High School. She has served as a member of the PHS Accountability Committee, bringing to that group her keen insight and understanding in developing a comprehensive, systematic improvement plan for teaching and learning school-wide. Her leadership in the Math Department is that of a servant leader who is innovative and yet practical in her approach to mentoring and guiding this vital group of educators." – George Osborne, principal at Poudre High School.

Support the Department of Mathematics
Support the College of Natural Sciences - Make A Gift The Campaign for Colorado State University

Department of Mathematics| 101 Weber Building | Colorado State University | Fort Collins, CO 80523-1874
Phone: (970) 491-1303 | Contact the Department |

You are receiving this message because of your affiliation with or support of Colorado State University.
If you would like to be removed from this mailing list, you may unsubscribe online.
This e-mail was sent by Colorado State University | Fort Collins, CO 80523 | Visit CSU Website