Education is not the filling of a pail, it is the lighting of a fire. - W. B. Yeats

M261 - Calculus III

News | Office Hours | Schedule | Syllabus | Textbook | Quizzes | Links

Will Newton
Weber Building 17
(970) 491-5423
newton@math.colostate.edu

News

Day-to-day notes will be posted here:
  • We will take the final on Wednesday, December 17 1:30-3:30 PM. Our room is Clark A 207

Office Hours

All office hours for M 261 are held in Weber 14. You may come any time 11 AM-3PM on Tuesday or 9 AM - 12 PM on Wednesday. I lead the hour on Wednesday 11 AM - 12 PM.

Week 1

Monday, Aug 25
10.1 Conic Sections #5-8,11,23,31,39,41,43
Tuesday, Aug 26
12.1 Three Dimensional Coordinate Systems #3,9,15,23,27,31,37,41,47,51; 12.2 Vectors #5,11,13,19,21
Wednesday, Aug 27
12.2 Vectors #29,31,33,37,39,43,47
Friday, Aug 29
12.3 The Dot Product #3,7,16,19,(Read 21-26),27,31,(Read 33-34),37,41,43,49,53;

Week 2

Tuesday, Sept 2
12.4 The Cross Product #7,13,17,21,23,29,37,41
12.5 Lines and Planes in Space #1,5,9,17,19
Wednesday, Sept 3
12.5 Lines and Planes in Space #23,25,29,35,37,45,47,49,55,57,59,61;
Friday, Sept 5
12.6 Cylinders and Quadric Surfaces #1-12,17,19,23,29,31,39,47,55,69

Week 3

Monday, Sept 8
13.1 Vector Functions #7,13,15,19,25,29,33,39,41,(Read 43-63)
Tuesday, Sept 9
Wednesday, Sept 10
Friday, Sept 12
13.5 The Unit Binormal Vector #5,7,13,15,23,(Read 25-28)

Week 4

Monday, Sept 15
14.1 Functions of Several Variables #5,7,9,11,13-18,27,29,37,41
Tuesday, Sept 16
Wednesday, Sept 17
Review;

Thursday, Sept 18
Midterm I;

Week 5

Monday, Sept 22
14.3 Partial Derivatives #5,11,17,25,31,37,45
Tuesday, Sept 23
14.3 Partial Derivatives #49,57,59,63
Wednesday, Sept 24
14.4 The Chain Rule #5,7,9,11,21,23,27,31;
Friday, Sept 26
14.4 The Chain Rule #35,37

Week 6

Monday, Sept 29
14.5 Directional Derivatives #3,7,9,11,15,19,21,23,27
Tuesday, Sept 30
14.6 Tangent Planes and Differentials #5,9,15,19,21,27,29,35
Wednesday, Oct 1
Friday, Oct 3
14.7 Extreme Values and Saddle Points #21,25,29

Week 7

Monday, Oct 6
14.8 Lagrange Multipliers #7,9,15
Tuesday, Oct 7
14.8 Lagrange Multipliers #21,23,27;
14.10 Taylor's Formula (Quadratic only, #3,7)
Wednesday, Oct 8
15.1 Double Integrals #7,9;
Friday, Oct 10
15.1 Double Integrals #15,17,23,37,43,47

Week 8

Monday, Oct 13
Tuesday, Oct 14
15.2 Areas, Moments, and Center of Mass #19,23,(35 center of mass only);
Wednesday, Oct 15
Review;
Thursday, Oct 16
Midterm II;

Week 9

Monday, Oct 20
15.3 Double Integrals in Polar Form #11,13,19,21,25; NOTE: Last Day to W Drop
Tuesday, Oct 21
15.4 Triple Integrals in Rectangular Coordinates #5,15,17
Wednesday, Oct 22
Friday, Oct 24
15.5 Masses and Moments in Three Dimensions #7a,13

Week 10

Monday, Oct 27
15.6 Triple Integrals in Cylindrical and Spherical Coordinates #5,9,11,15,17
Tuesday, Oct 28
15.6 Triple Integrals in Cylindrical and Spherical Coordinates #25,29,37,43,51,55,57
Wednesday, Oct 29
15.7 Substitutions in Multiple Integrals #3a,7,11;
Friday, Oct 31
15.7 Substitution in Multiple Integrals #15,21

Week 11

Monday, Nov 3
16.1 Line Integrals #3,7,11,13,19,21;
Tuesday, Nov 4
Wednesday, Nov 5
16.2 Vector Fields, Work, Circulation and Flux #27,39;
Friday, Nov 7

Week 12

Monday, Nov 10
16.3 Path Independence, Potential Functions, and Conservative Fields #19,21,25,27,31
Tuesday, Nov 11
Review;
Wednesday, Nov 12
Review;
Thursday, Nov 13
Midterm III;

Week 13

Monday, Nov 17
Tuesday, Nov 18
16.4 Green's Theorem in the Plane #17,23
Wednesday, Nov 19
16.6 Parameterized Surfaces #5,7,11;
Friday, Nov 21
16.6 Parameterized Surfaces #19,23,27,33,39

Week 14

Monday, Dec 1
16.5 Surface Areas and Surface Integrals(do problems as in 16.6) #5,9,11,17;
Tuesday, Dec 2
Wednesday, Dec 3
16.7 Stokes' Theorem #13,15;
Friday, Dec 5
16.8 The Divergence Theorem #9,11,13

Week 15

Monday, Dec 8
16.8 Divergence Theorem #15;
Tuesday, Dec 9
Review for Final;
Wednesday, Dec 10
Review for Final
Friday, Dec 12
Review for Final

Syllabus

Please review the course syllabus.

Textbook

Calculus (11th edition)
G. Thomas
Pearson Addison Wesley 2000, ISBN 0-321-18558-7

Quizzes

Date Quiz and Key
Aug 29 Quiz 1
Sept 3 Quiz 2
Sept 10 Quiz 3
Sept 24 Quiz 4
Oct 1 Quiz 5
Oct 8 Quiz 6
Oct 22 Quiz 7
Oct 29 Quiz 8
Nov 5 Quiz 9
Nov 19
Dec 2
Dec 9

Useful Links

As the semester progresses, this will be a growing list of resources.