NSF REU Sites

 

California Polytechnic State University: Operator

theory and combinatorics; Jonathan Shapiro, jshapiro@calpoly.edu.

 

California State University, San Bernardino: Combina-

torics, knot theory; Joseph Chavez, jchavez@csusb.edu.

 

Central Michigan University: Combinatorics, geometry,

graph theory, and matrix analysis; Sivaram Narayan,

sivaram.narayan@cmich.edu.

 

College of William and Mary: Matrix analysis and its

applications; David J. Lutzer, Lutzer@math.wm.edu.

 

Colorado School of Mines: Computer science, mathe-

matics; Erik Van Vleck, byoung@mines.edu.

 

Cornell University: Analysis on fractals, lattice tilings

and coverings, and computational discrete geometry;

Robert S. Strichartz, reu@math.cornell.edu.

 

East Tennessee State University: Probability, combina-

torics, number theory, statistics, algorithms, and geome-

try; Anant P. Godbole, godbolea@etsu.edu.

 

Hope College: Algebra, dynamical systems, probability,

and number theory; Tim Pennings, pennings@hope.edu.

 

Indiana University: Selected topics in pure and applied

mathematics; Allan Edmonds, edmonds@indiana.edu.

 

James Madison University: Abstract algebra, mathematical

modeling, statistical inference; Leonard VanWyk,

vanwyk@math.jmu.edu.

 

Lafayette College: Applied combinatorics, graph theory,

and algebra/geometry/number theory; Gary Gordon,

gordong@lafayette.edu.

 

Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge: Braids, groups,

number theory, and zeta functions; Neal W. Stoltzfus,

sto1tz@math.lsu.edu.

 

Mount Holyoke College: Number theory, algebraic

geometry, and applied analysis; Alan H. Durfee, reu@mtho1yoke.edu.

 

Northern Arizona University: Combinatorics, applied

math, statistics; Terence R. Blows, Terence.Blows@nau.edu.

 

Oregon State University: Analysis of algorithms, geom-

etry, population dynamics, and topology; Dennis J. Garity,

reu@math.orst.edu.

 

Pennsylvania State University, Erie, The Behrend College:

Mathematical biology; Joseph Paullet, paullet@lagrange.bd.psu.edu.

 

Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology: Computational

group theory, hyperbolic geometry; S. Allen Broughton,

allen.broughton@rose-hulman.edu.

 

Southwest Texas State University: Abstract algebra;

Susan Morey, morey@swt.edu.

 

State University of New York, Potsdam: Group theory,

graph theory, topology; Kazem Mahdavi, mahdavk@potsdam.edu.

 

Texas A&M University: Algebra and applied analysis;

Ed Letzter, letzter@math.tamu.edu.

 

Trinity University: Mathematics; Scott Chapman,

schapman@trinity.edu.

 

University of Houston: Geometry, analysis, number

theory, and numerical analysis; Ed Dean, dean@math.uh.edu.

 

University of Idaho: Discrete mathematics and permu-

tation puzzles; Arie Bialostocki, reu@uidaho.edu.

 

University of Minnesota, Duluth: Discrete mathematics,

combinatorics. and graph theory; Joseph A. Gallian,

jgallian@d.umn.edu.

 

University of Puerto Rico, Humacao: Computational

algebra, wavelets, fluid dynamics, Groebner bases;

Ivelisse M. Rubio, ive@cuhwww.upr.clu.edu.

 

University of Tennessee: Selected topics in pure

and applied math; Suzanne Lenhart, lenhart@math.utk.edu.

 

University of Washington: Inverse problems; James A.

Morrow. morrow@math.washington.edu.

 

Williams College: Geometry; Colin Adams, colin.adams@williams.edu.

 

Worcester Polytechnic Institute: Applied/industrial

mathematics; Bogdan Vernescu, vernescu@wpi.edu.

 

Updated information is available on the website of the

NSF's Division of Mathematical Sciences, http://www.nsf.gov/home/crssprgm/reu/reu98dms.htm.

General information on the REU program, as well as instructions

for submitting proposals, is available on the NSF website,

http://www.nsf.gov/home/crssprgm/reu/start.htm.