Faculty

The Department of Mathematics emphasizes good teaching and takes great pride in the research and teaching accomplishments of its faculty members. Members of the department faculty have received a variety of University Awards, including the Distinguished Teaching Award, the Distinguished Service Award for Administration, the Natural Science Teaching Award, the Honors Professorship, the Natural Sciences Research Award, and the Distinguished Service Award for Research. Faculty members in the Department have given invited lectures on 6 continents and in 68 countries. They have published more than 1000 research papers in technical journals.

This page offers a brief listing for each faculty member, with web page links provided where appropriate.

Current Faculty

Post Doc, Instructors and Visitors

Emeritus Faculty


For Administration and Committees please see the Departmental Procedures Manual

Office addresses with WB are in the Weber Building

Click the office number to get a person's schedule.

Current Faculty

Jeff Achter

Jeff Achter

Office: WB 205B
Phone: 970-491-6716
email: achter@math.colostate.edu

Number Theory, Arithmetic Geometry, Mathematical Ecology and Evolution


Henry Adams

Henry Adams

Office: WB 125
Phone: 970-491-5085
email: adams@math.colostate.edu

Applied algebraic topology, computational topology, and combinatorial topology


David Aristoff

David Aristoff

Office: WB 221
Phone: 970-491-2792
email: aristoff@math.colostate.edu

Numerical Analysis, Mathematical Physics


Dan Bates

Dan Bates
Office: WB 120
Phone: 970-491-1037
email: bates@math.colostate.edu

Numerical Algebraic Geometry, Scientific Computation


Steve Benoit

Steve Benoit

Office: WB 113
Phone: 970-491-0549
email:benoit@math.colostate.edu

Distance Learning, Numerical Analysis/Simulation, Lasers and Photonic Crystals, Cell Dynamics


Anton Betten

Anton Betten
Office: WB 207
Phone: 970-491-1865
email: betten@math.colostate.edu

Combinatorics, Coding theory, Design theory


R. Mark Bradley

R. Mark Bradley

Office: Engineering D 215
Phone: 970-491-5735
email: mark.bradley@colostate.edu

Theory of Nanoscale Pattern Formation Induced by Ion Bombardment of Solid Surfaces


Patrick Burns Patrick Burns

Office: 110 Morgan Library
Phone: 970-491-1456
email: Patrick.Burns@colostate.edu

Vice President for Information Technology - High Performance Computing


Renzo Cavalieri

Renzo Cavalieri

Office: WB 118
Phone: 970-491-6283
email: renzo@math.colostate.edu

Algebraic Geometry, Moduli Spaces


Kelly Chappell

Kelly Chappell

Office: WB 122
Phone: 970-491-6416
email: chappell@math.colostate.edu

Mathematics Education

Margaret Cheney

Margaret Cheney, Yates Endowment Chair

Office: WB 203
Phone: 970-491-6478
email: cheney@math.colostate.edu

Inverse Problems, Radar Imaging


Edwin Chong

Edwin Chong

Office: ENGR C101D
Phone: 970-491-7858
email: echong@engr.colostate.edu

Control and Optimization, Communication Networks, Wireless Systems


Gerhard Dangelmary

Gerhard Dangelmayr

Office: WB 116
Phone: 970-491-3332
email: gerhard@math.colostate.edu

Nonlinear Dynamics, Pattern Analysis


Jeanne Duflot

Jeanne Duflot

Office: WB 218
Phone: 970-491-6453
email: duflot@math.colostate.edu

Algebraic Topology, Algebraic Geometry, K-Theory


Jessica Ellis

Jessica Ellis

Office: WB 121
Phone: 970-491-5442
email: ellis@math.colostate.edu

Undergraduate Mathematics Education


Oleg Emanouilov

Oleg Emanouilov

Office: WB 220
Phone: 970-491-7475
email: oleg@math.colostate.edu

Partial differential equations, optimal control, inverse problems


Hilary Freeman

Hilary Freeman

Office: WB 114
Phone: 970-491-5308
email: freeman@math.colostate.edu


Alexander Hulpke

Alexander Hulpke, Undergraduate Director

Office: WB 104
Phone: 970-491-1303 (Office)
email: hulpke@colostate.edu

(Computational) Group Theory, Combinatorics, Number Theory, Symbolic Computation


Paul Kennedy

Paul Kennedy, Co-Director of the PACe Program

Office: WB 115
Phone: 970-491-2497
email: kennedy@math.colostate.edu

Mathematics Education


Michael Kirby

Michael Kirby

Office: WB 211
Phone: 970-491-6850
email: kirby@math.colostate.edu

Computational and Applied Mathematics, Geometric methods in pattern analysis, empirical analysis of large data sets, optimization and mathematical modeling, signal and image processing,Optimal low-dimensional systems and modeling

James Liu

Jiangguo (James) Liu

Office: WB 127
Phone: 970-491-3067
email: liu@math.colostate.edu

Numerical Analysis, Scientific Computing


Kelly McArthur

Kelly McArthur

Office: N/A
Phone: N/A
email: N/A


Ross McConnell

Ross McConnell

Office: Computer Science 466
Phone: 970-491-7524
email: rmcconne@lamar.colostate.edu

Algorithms and graph theory

Kenneth McLaughlin

Kenneth McLaughlin, Chair

Office: WB 106
Phone: 970-491-6452
email: kenmcl@math.colostate.edu

Department Chair


Rick Miranda

Rick Miranda, Provost & Executive Vice President

Office: 108 Administration Building
Phone: 970-491-6614
email: provost@provost.colostate.edu

Algebraic Geometry

Jennifer Mueller

Jennifer Mueller, Graduate Director

Office: WB 128
Phone: 970-491-7417
email: mueller@math.colostate.edu

Inverse problems, electrical impedance tomography, medical imaging, PDE's

Kaitlyn Voccola

Kaitlyn (Voccola) Muller

Office: WB 218A
Phone: 970-491-4678
email: kmuller@math.colostate.edu

Roberto Munoz-Alicea

Roberto Munoz-Alicea, Academic Support Coordinator

Office: WB 108
Phone: 970-491-7205
email: munoz@math.colostate.edu

Differential Equations, Mathematical Biology, and Applied Mathematics


Iuliana Oprea

Iuliana Oprea

Office: WB 123
Phone: 970-491-6751
email: juliana@math.colostate.edu

Dynamical systems; pattern formation; fluid dynamics,  hydrodynamic and hydromagnetic stability and bifurcation; numerical analysis; mathematical modeling

Anita Pattison

Anita Pattison

Office: PACe Center WB 137D
Phone: 970-491-3683
email: pattison@math.colostate.edu

Associate Director of the PACe Program

Tim Penttila

Tim Penttila

Office: WB 213
Phone: 970-491-6695
email: penttila@math.colostate.edu

Finite Geometries

Chris Peterson

Chris Peterson

Office: WB 209
Phone: 970-491-5153
email: peterson@math.colostate.edu

Algebraic Geometry

Ali Pezeshki

Ali Pezeshki

Office: C103J Engineering Building
Phone: 970-491-3242
email: pezeshki@engr.colostate.edu

Statistical signal processing, coding theory, applied harmonic analysis, radar/sonar imaging

Mary Pilgrim

Mary Pilgrim

Office: WB 111
Phone: 970-491-6440
email: pilgrim@math.colostate.edu

Mathematics Education

Olivier Pinaud

Olivier Pinaud

Office: WB 215
Phone: 970-491-5138
email: pinaud@math.colostate.edu

Partial Differential Equations, Waves in Random Media, Inverse Problems, Quantum Transport.

Rachel Pries

Rachel Pries

Office: WB 205A
Phone: 970-491-2635
email: pries@math.colostate.edu

Arithmetic Geometry, Number Theory, Galois theory

Lois Samer

Lois Samer, Co-Director of the PACe Program

Office: PACe Center WB 137A
Phone: 970-491-5044
email: samer@math.colostate.edu

Molecular Genetics

Louis Scharf

Louis Scharf

Office: WB 126
Phone: 970-491-6792
email: scharf@engr.colostate.edu

Statistical Signal Processing , Wireless Communication

Patrick Shipman

Patrick Shipman

Office: WB 205C
Phone: 970-491-6488
email: shipman@math.colostate.edu

Differential Equations, Mathematical Biology, Applied Math

Clayton Shonkwiler

Clayton Shonkwiler

Office: WB 216
Phone: 970-491-1822
email: clayton@math.colostate.edu

Differential Geometry, Geometric Knot Theory, Polymer Models

Simon Tavener

Simon Tavener

Office: Statistics 117
Phone: 970-491-6645
email: simon.tavener@colostate.edu

Multi-physics and multi-scale problems; numerical solution, sensitivities and parametrization

James Wilson

James Wilson

Office: WB 206A
Phone: 970-491-2261
email: jwilson@math.colostate.edu

Groups, algebras, and computation

Yongcheng Zhou

Yongcheng Zhou

Office: WB 124
Phone: 970-491-0237
email: yzhou@math.colostate.edu

Numerical Methods for PDEs, Mathematical Biology, Fluid Dynamics

Colleen Webb

Colleen Webb

Office: ZE 334A
Phone: 970-491-4289
email: colleen.webb@colostate.edu

Theoretical Ecology and Evolution


Post Docs, Instructors and Visitors

Julian Chaput

Julien Chaput

Office: WB 129
Phone:
email: jchaput82@gmail.com


Camila Friedman-Gerlicz

Camila Friedman-Gerlicz

Office: WB 119
Phone:
email: camilafg@rams.colostate.edu


Vanessa Little

Vanessa Little

Office: WB 119
Phone:
email: vlittle@colostate.edu


Dale Lockwood

Dale Lockwood

Office: USDA NCGRP 110
Phone: 970-492-4070
email: dale@lockwood.colostate.edu


Peter Muller

Peter Muller

Office: WB 212
Phone: 970-491-1067
email: muller@math.colostate.edu


Pooria Pakrooh

Pooria Pakrooh

Office:N/A
Phone: N/A
email: pooria.pakrooh@colostate.edu


William Newton

Mary Worthley

Office: 219
Phone: 970-491-6514
email: worthley@math.colostate.edu



Emeriti

Allgower

Eugene Allgower

email: allgower@math.colostate.edu

Numerical Analysis, Nonlinear Systems

Spacer Image

Duane Clow

email: clow@math.colostate.edu

Darst

Richard Darst

email: darst@math.colostate.edu

Analysis

duchateau

Paul DuChateau

email: pauld@math.colostate.edu

Partial Differential Equations, Inverse and Ill posed problems

DeMeyer

Frank DeMeyer

email: N/A

Ring Theory, Algebraic Geometry

Spacer Image

Howard Frisinger




Spacer Image

Robert Gaines




Spacer Image

Kurt Georg




Spacer Image

Darel Hardy

email: hardy@math.colostate.edu

Ken Klopfenstein

Ken Klopfenstein

email: kenk@math.colostate.edu

Hilbert Spaces of Analytic Functions, Operator Theory


Krier

Nicholas Krier

email: krier@math.colostate.edu

Geometry, Combinatorics

Liebler

Robert Liebler (Memorial Page)

Algebra, Finite Group Theory, Geometry, Combinatorics

Locker

John Locker

email: jslocker@msn.com

Manvel

Ben Manvel

email:

Spacer Image

Richard Osborne

email: rosborne@frii.com

Combinatorial Group Theory, Recursive Functions, Geometric Topology

Painter

Richard Painter (Memorial Page)

Poore

Aubrey Poore

email: poore@math.colostate.edu

Applied and Computational Mathematics, Optimization and Control

Rudolph

Dan Rudolph, Yates Endowment Chair (Memorial Page)

Dynamical Systems

Thomas

Jim Thomas

email:

Fluid Dynamics, Numerical Solution of Partial Differential Equations, Bifurcation

Spacer Image

Gerald Taylor

email: taylor@math.colostate.edu

Approximation Theory, Numerical Analysis

Spacer Image

Jaak Vilms

email: vilms@math.colostate.edu

Zachmann

Dave Zachmann

email: